A Paleo Dinner Party

I learned just yesterday that my wonderful husband had invited 3 travelling coworkers over for dinner. It’s 2 guys who travel around teaching oil drilling and well control classes and who typically don’t get a home cooked meal for the 2-3 weeks they are travelling around the world.  My husband used to be one of those guys and has had many opportunities to stop by and visit old friends in places like Doha, Qatar or Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

So, the menu tonight was mostly thanks to Geoffrey Zakarian and his recipe for Salmon and Smashed Cucumber – Date Salad.  A fellow “foodie” on my homeschool forum who also blogs her culinary explots at “Wild Life in the Woods” clued me into this recipe.  It’s just fantastic.

Grilled Salmon with Smashed Cucumber-Date Salad

Along with that, we had Spaghetti Squash.

I had made the Salmon last week and I had used our gas grill.  The fish was “OK” but it didn’t crisp up at all.  I don’t think the gas grill was hot enough.  So, I decided that for this meal, I’d use the charcoal grill side.  I started the charcoal with a charcoal chimney – if you like to grill with charcoal and you don’t have a charcoal chimney, GET ONE!  So, I spread out the hot charcoal and added some more charcoal to get a nice hot base.  I left it to warm up and came out to a grill that was way too hot.  700 deg. F.!  It took about 30 minutes before it cooled down enough for me to actually cook with it.

Got everything done and dinner on the table and it was a success!  I do wish I had taken pictures.  Improving my organization for my food photography is something I want to work on.

Our guests loved the fish.  One guy said he’s “Not a fish lover but really loved it” and the other guy reported he is very fond of fish and he thought it was fantastic!  Success!

About mom2mnmz

Blogging about life, food and fun in Abu Dhabi
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

