Deviled egg salad… a confession

I have never been a fan of egg salad. I have “texture issues” that remain unresolved from childhood and egg salad is one of those. I have only recently recovered from one of my childhood issues of the sound of smacking while stirring certain foods together – Goulash, macaroni/pasta salads, etc. they had a sound while being stirred that just grated on my nerves.

See why I need to be a better cook. I have so many issues.

So, I boiled eggs over the weekend because I thought I’d put some hard boiled eggs in David’s lunch and my kids like them as well. When I boiled them, I was thinking that maybe I could get up the courage to make egg salad and I started surfing up recipes. I came across a recipe for “Deviled Egg Salad” and lightbulbs went on. I might be able to make an egg salad I would actually eat.

Here is where the confession comes in.

I was one of those evil children that would sneak up to a plate of deviled eggs. While no on was looking, I would take the deviled egg and lick the center out of it and put the white back. I just read this out-loud to my own children and they’re horrified. I may have only done this once or twice. But I remember liking the filling of the deviled eggs, but not the white part at the same time. Oddly enough, when I was a child, I would have rather eat the white part of the egg over the yolk and white together. Put a little salt on it, I liked it.

So, I got this idea while surfing up these recipes for “Deviled Egg Salad” of taking the yolk out of the hard boiled egg, and chopping up the white but then whipping up the yolks in the mustardy and mayo cream and then mixing them together. So, that’s what I did. Oh, it’s good.

My own, Deviled Egg Salad

12 eggs, hard boiled.
1/4 c. chopped celery
2Tbls grated onion
1 clove of garlic, pressed or fine chop
2 Tbsp pickle relish
1 tsp worcestershire sauce
1/2 tsp hot sauce
salt and pepper
1 tsp paprika
1/4 c mayonnaise

Cut the boiled eggs in half and separate the yolk from the egg and the white. If you have a food processor, just throw the yolk into the food processor. Roughly chop the egg whites. Having my daughter help was nice here.
Add the chopped celery to the egg whites and set aside.
In the food processor, using the chopping blade, put together the yolks, onion, garlic, relish, worcestershire sauce, hot sauce, salt, pepper, paprika and mayonnaise. Process this until creamy and smooth.
Add the processed yolk mixture to the egg whites and celery and gently fold these together.

Finally, an egg salad even *I* like.

About mom2mnmz

Blogging about life, food and fun in Abu Dhabi
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deviled egg salad… a confession

  1. The Reader says:

    So glad you did this! I’ve been looking for a good egg salad recipe, and this is going to be it!!!

  2. This just made me so hungry! I’m going to try this recipe because I love salads that have hard boiled eggs and potato. Not much of a mayo fan but if you put mustard on it I’m in! 😀

Leave a Reply

